Cookie Monster Cakes

20 Aug

 

 

 

Like I said in my very first post, I baked poppyseed and blueberry muffins last night. This morning, I turned them into cookie monster cupcakes for my friend’s birthday – it’s an idea I stole from somewhere on The Internets.

I iced the cakes with coloured sugar icing and then dipped them into desiccated coconut, which I had coloured blue before. For the mouths, I cut out tiny pieces of the cakes and stuck cookies into them. The eyes are made from marzipan, with one little chocolate drop each. Somebody recommended more sugar icing to glue the eyes on top of the cakes but that seemed too much hassle; so I just used toothpicks to attach the eyes, which worked just fine.

The poppyseed & blueberry muffins are lovely and moist and not too sweet; I think it all goes rather well together. And both my friend and her four-year-old absolutely loved the cakes! Result!


3 Responses to “Cookie Monster Cakes”

  1. Amy 06/09/2011 at 12:00 AM #

    I’ve made these before, using this recipe http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/873655/cookie-monster-cupcakes although I used the white-chocolate button idea for eyes rather than marzipan. They’re amazingly good fun!

    Not to be horrible but it’s pretty bad blogging practice not to acknowledge your source- I know you haven’t claimed it’s your own idea (kudos) but it’s still darn bad manners!

    • monsterbake 06/09/2011 at 8:04 AM #

      Thanks for your comment, and thank you for the link! You are absolutely right; unfortunately I wasn’t sure where I had seen a picture of a cookie monster cake before, and when I did a Google image search, it came up with so many results that I was a bit too overwhelmed — and lazy, I must admit — to post dozens of links.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 22 Blue Party Treats | Recipes - 24/01/2014

    […] Recipe: monsterbake […]

Leave a Reply

