Hot Madras Mini Muffins

29 Aug

Hot Madras Mini Muffins

Inspired by an Indian meal I cooked for my friends yesterday, I have created Hot Madras Mini Muffins. And I think I have fallen in love with the general idea of mini muffins and mini cupcakes. They’re so cute! And it’s fun to pretend you’re a giant when you’re eating them.

These are the first spicy muffins I have ever tried. I really like the idea, and I like that it will come as a surprise to most people. Unfortunately, they are a bit on the dry side; I think I left them in the oven for too long. But no worries, hubby can take this batch to work tomorrow. His workmates will eat anything! ;) For the next ones, I’ll adjust the baking time, and I may add some chilis or tiny veg. I can just see myself standing in the kitchen for ages, dicing peppers and courgettes… Fun!

This is the recipe in its current state:

Ingredients
3 eggs
150 ml buttermilk
6 tbsp Hot Madras curry paste
200 g flour
2 tsp baking powder
salt, pepper, spices to taste
2 tbsp butter
chopped parsley

Method
Beat the eggs for about 3 minutes, add the buttermilk and beat for another minute. Then beat in the curry paste. Sift in the flour and the baking powder, add generous amounts of salt and pepper (and spices and everything else you can find in your kitchen that looks like it should go in your mini muffins), stir well.
Spoon the mixture into mini muffin moulds lined with mini muffin paper cups. Enjoy the mini muffin mixture alliteration while doing so.
Bake at 160°C fan for about 15 minutes.
Melt the butter. Dip slightly cooled mini muffins into the the melted butter and decorate with chopped parsley. I have also sprinkled them with a little bit of curry powder and cayenne pepper. Because I can.

 

 

Leave a Reply

