Savoury birthday cake

4 Sep

My third baking project this weekend was my most daring one. It was my friend’s birthday yesterday, and because she’s a really talented and passionate bakesteress ;) she made the cakes herself and had asked me to bring something savoury for the party. At first, I was  bit unhappy because I wanted to make a proper birthday cake. But then I realised that this was an awesome challenge: a savoury birthday cake. I love challenges.

Ta-dah!

Savoury Birthday Cake

The base is a rather mild courgette*, ham & nut cake, which basically tastes like a nutty bread of sorts. For the topping I used one of my favourite foods, an Austrian bread spread called Liptauer. It’s very paprika-y and rather spicy (at least in my version), which goes perfectly with the savoury courgette cake. As muffins, this would make for awesome picnic food. And as mini muffins… I’m getting carried away!

This is the recipe; the Liptauer recipe is a traditional one while the cake recipe was made up by yours truly. Note the detailed instructions!

Cake:
125 ml vegetable oil
2 eggs
220 g flour
2 tsp baking powder
200 g grated courgettes
100 g ground hazelnuts
75 g sunflower seeds, chopped
75 g ham, diced
1 tsp chives
1 dash sugar
salt and pepper to taste

Mix everything together until as well combined as it gets. Spoon into a baking tin and bake at 180°C for 50 minutes.

Cream:
50 g butter
250 g fromage frais
1/2 onion
50 g gherkins
1 1/2 green chillies
1 1/2 tbsp paprika (hot)
1 tsp hot mustard
1 tsp tomate puree
1 tsp chives
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper powder
1/2 tsp ground garlic
salt and pepper to taste

Chop the onion, the gherkins and the chillies. You want to get really tiny pieces for the cake cream so it looks nicer.
Beat the soft butter and the fromage frais until well combined. Then add all the other ingredients. The mixture should have a nice orange colour. (The photo above doesn’t do it justice!)

Once the cake has cooled completely, spread the Liptauer cream all over the cake. You can use an icing bag to decorate the cake with the cream; please note that you’ll need a very big nozzle for the icing bag unless you’ve spent too much time chopping the veg. Or have used a food processor, in which case you’re cheating because I don’t own one so nobody should be allowed to use them.
I’ve sprinkled my cake with chives; alternatively you could use grated cheese, roasted onions or ham bits for example.
If you have too much Liptauer, eat it on bread. It’s lovely. And Austrian! :)

* Has anybody noticed that I really love courgettes yet? If not: I do. I truly do.

Leave a Reply

