And so the pumpkin fest beginneth: Almond and Pumpkin Cake

19 Sep

The kitchen is mine again; the men have been banished, and I am free to use my lunch break for some baking, wahay!

My mate has supplied me with large quantities of pumpkins; he more or less grew them by accident and doesn’t know what to do with the lot. On top of this tragic story he’s quite convinced that pumpkin soup is the only thing worth making out of pumpkins. AHAHAHAHAHAHAHHHAHAH! The fool!

It’s my mission to show him the light. Or was it the dark side? (Mmmmmh, pumpkin cookies…. Must make note.) Anyway, today’s cake is the kick-off to my little pumpkin fest. There won’t just be cakes, but I can’t give away everything just yet.

So this is part one: almond and pumpkin cake.

Almond and Pumpkin Cake

I have used this recipe* and only changed it a bit to accommodate to my personal taste and the great big maxim of what-I-have-in-my-kitchen-cupboard-at-the-moment. The icing is a store-bought almond icing (yes, I am lazy) and some melted chocolate.

Recipe: Almond and Pumpkin Cake
(makes two small cakes or one regular-sized one)

Ingredients
500 g pumpkin, pureed, grated or finely chopped
3 eggs
150 g flour
2 tsp baking powder
150 g ground almonds
160 g sugar
3 tbsp amaretto
grated peel of 1 lemon
2 tbsp cream
a pinch of salt
icing to taste or icing sugar

Method
Separate eggs, beat eggs white very stiff. Combine yolks with almonds, sugar, amaretto, lemon peel, cream, salt and pumpkin. Sift flour and baking powder and fold into the batter. Finally, gently fold in the beaten egg whites.
Bake at 180°C for 50 minutes.
Let cool, then ice with an icing of your choice or sprinkle it with icing sugar.

Almond and Pumpkin Cake #2

I chopped the pumpkin because grating was too much work and I didn’t want to use puréed pumpkin as I am currently on a second pumpkin-related mission. I have a friend who, unlike my pumpkin supplier mate, is aware that there are other uses for pumpkin than soup but says she does not really like pumpkin in any other state because of its texture. AND I WILL find a non-soup pumpkin recipe that will change her mind, and if it’s the penultimate thing I do! [insert heroic gesture and determined look on face here]

* Why Italian? Because I can! :D – I often look for recipes in different languages because if you stay within the limits of your own cultural cooking/baking background you’re narrowing your horizon.**

** Did I just sound arrogant? What I wanted to say is that if you have spent all that time and effort learning foreign languages, you might as well use them for baking. Surely there is no better use for education than cake!

 

One Response to “And so the pumpkin fest beginneth: Almond and Pumpkin Cake”

  1. Elena 03/10/2011 at 8:16 PM #

    I found a recipe for you pumpkin project:

    http://www.recipegirl.com/2007/11/05/pumpkin-snickerdoodles/

Leave a Reply

