Super quick chocolate muffins for four / Chocolate, cinnamon & plum muffins

3 Oct

Chocolate, cinnamon and plum muffin

 

Yay for spontaneous baking! When husband said yesterday that I was overdoing it, I assured him that I was not going to bake ANYTHING until the end of the week. Er … yes.

But it’s not my fault! I was surfing the web totally innocently, not knowing that inspiration was lurking just around the corner, waiting to take me by surprise. So there I was, reading this blog entry when I thought two things – actually, I thought a wide range of things which you don’t want to know about. Seriously. You don’t.

In any case, there were two new thoughts in my weird little head: a) I’m not convinced when it comes to microwave baking. Not that I’ve ever tried it. But still. b) However, this small-quantity recipe would be perfect for a round of muffins or fairy cakes without husband’s workmates getting leftovers.

 

I’ve changed the basic recipe a little bit:

Super quick chocolate muffins for four

6 tbsp flour
6 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp vanilla sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg
4 tbsp cocoa powder
5 tbsp milk
5 tbsp oil

Mix all the ingredients together in a small bowl, spoon into four lined or greased muffin moulds and bake (in a regular old-fashioned oven for regular old-fashioned people like me) at 180°C for 15 – 20 minutes or until a skewer … you know the drill.

And for today’s muffins I’ve added some cinnamon and a few chocolate chips as well as two small slices of plum per muffin. The glaze is made from icing sugar, coffee and ground cinnamon.

I just realised that I’ve now moved three steps away from the original recipe; I changed the cooking method, the quantities AND then added other ingredients. I seriously don’t seem to be able to follow a recipe exactly. Ah well. Obeying is just not my thing, I guess. :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Super quick chocolate muffins for four / Chocolate, cinnamon & plum muffins”

  1. Elena 03/10/2011 at 8:04 PM #

    Sounds lush! I need larger quantities though – I don’t teach classes with 4 kids… ;-) As for spontaneous baking – I’ve just taken out the last tray of double chocolate cookies…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cocoa fairy cake with a peppermint cream centre « Monsterbake - 12/06/2012

    […] used my super quick chocolate muffins for four recipe for the fairy […]

  2. Half-Birthday Cake | Monsterbake - 18/01/2014

    […] time to write much; I reckon you can guess the occasion for the cake. This is the recipe I used for this small cake, and I added one peeled and chopped pear to the […]

Leave a Reply

