Minty Cherry and Chocolate Tray Bake

9 Oct

Minty Cherry and Chocolate Tray Bake

This weekend’s cake was baked especially for my brother-in-law because it was very subtly suggested that he might like it.

A while ago, I saw this recipe  (German!) and I found the combination of flavours quite intriguing. So I gave it a go, and I must say I was not disappointed! I guess the hint of mint is not for everyone but it’s for me, and surely that’s what counts, right? Also, the mintiness is what gives this recipe a certain twist. And twisted minds like twisted recipes.

I have hardly changed the original recipe at all, which could be interpreted as a compliment, I suppose. :) The main change was regarding quantities because I used a 38 x 25 cm baking tray.

Minty Cherry and Chocolate Tray Bake

Ingredients
200 g butter or margarine
100 g sugar
1 packages vanilla sugar
1 pinch salt
3 eggs
180 g flour
2 tsp baking powder
3 tbsp milk
100 g mint chocolate
350 g cherries, pitted
50 g plain chocolate

Method
Mix together butter, sugars and salt. Beat in eggs one at a time. Sift in flour and baking powder, then add milk. Beat. Chop the mint chocolate and fold it into the cake batter. Spread batter onto baking tray lined with baking parchment, then scatter cherries on top.
Bake at 175°C for about 40 minutes.
Melt the plain chocolate in a small bowl over a pan of simmering water. Sprinkle cake with melted chocolate.

Obviously the degree of mintiness depends on the kind of chocolate you’re using. I like Ritter Sport Peppermint.

One more tip: if nephews are involved in the eating of your cake, use all your clumsiness when sprinkling the melted chocolate so that there are pieces with massive dollops of chocolate on them. The kids will love it!

Leave a Reply

