Pumpkin & Sesame White Chocolate Truffles

13 Oct

Pumpkin and Sesame White Chocolate Truffles

This is what my sesame and vanilla cake had to be destroyed for. But I think it’s looking down on me from its cloud in cake heaven, smiling and approving of the lovely use I’ve put its crumbs to.

I made these truffles as part of my ongoing pumpkin fest – I have not used my pumpkins for a lot of baking but I’ve made other yummy pumpkin things to demonstrate to my friends that there are gazillions of great pumpkin recipes. Hang on a minute … have I been tricked into supplying my friends with lots of food? They wouldn’t, surely! Or would they? Hmmmm…

Anyway, I have set aside one box of truffles for my friend who I am going to see for the first time in over three years tomorrow. So if she’s managed to suppress the memory of how weird I really am, at least she’ll have sweets to help her cope with the shock!

The main inspiration for these truffles came from my cake pops experiments earlier this year, and I stole ideas and parts of ideas from Erin.

Below is my recipe; today I used double the quantities though because I think if you’re going to make a mess in your kitchen, you might as well get lots of sweets out of it. And using 180 g of cake rather than just 90 totally justifies baking the cake yesterday.  (As if baking a cake needs any justification… but still.)

Pumpkin & Sesame White Chocolate Truffles

Ingredients
90 g white chocolate
90 g sesame & vanilla cake
1 tbsp sesame seeds
50 g pureed pumpkin
1 tbsp icing sugar
1 pinch cinnamon
1 pinch salt
50 g cream cheese, at room temperature
200 g white coating chocolate/couverture

Method
Find, kill and destroy the sesame & vanilla cake. You want very fine crumbs.
Melt the white chocolate, then combine it with the cake crumbs, sesame seeds, pureed pumpkin, icing sugar, cinnamon, salt and cream cheese. Beat until you get a smooth mixture. Cover and chill for about two hours.
Working swiftly, roll your truffle mixture into little balls (using roughly 1 tsp of the mixture each; makes about 30 pieces).  Freeze them for at least one hour, preferably longer.
Melt the couverture, dip your frozen truffle balls in and roll them around so that they get a nice coating. Transfer to a piece of baking parchment. Leave plain, or sprinkle with sesame seeds or coloured sugar immediately, or leave couverture to set and then drizzle with melted dark chocolate.

 

One Response to “Pumpkin & Sesame White Chocolate Truffles”

  1. Elena 23/10/2011 at 7:36 PM #

    They look lush!

Leave a Reply

