Honey Beer Bread

12 Nov

We hosted another dinner party last night. It was so much fun – not least because it was officially this season’s first Glühwein night!

The sad thing was that I was NOT in charge of dessert, so it looked like there was no baking occasion for me. It’s not like I don’t love cooking, and I like to think that both my Middle Eastern pumpkin soup and the lamb tagine were a real success. But still. Me wants baking.

So I thought … if my friends are going to keep me from baking a cake for Friday night, I am baking bread for Saturday morning! They all stayed the night at our place anyway. (Remember I mentioned Glühwein? ;)

Never having baked bread before I was intrigued by an incredibly simple and yummy sounding recipe I found on my wanderings through various food blogs.

Honey Beer Bread

Honey Beer Bread

The bread is wonderful; I really like the taste. I did a trial run on Wednesday, and this second time round I have changed the recipe only a tiny little bit. Now I really want to try out different variations of it though!

Honey Beer Bread

Ingredients
300 g flour
1 tbsp baking powder
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
2 tbsp honey
355 ml beer
60 g butter, melted

Method
Whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar and salt; then stir in honey and beer – you may want to microwave the honey for a few seconds because that makes it easier to stir it in. Spoon half the melted butter into a loaf tin and use some of it to lightly grease the sides of the tin. Then add the batter and finally the second half of the melted butter. Spread it on top of the batter with a brush or the backside of a spoon.
Bake at 180° C for about 55 minutes.

2 Responses to “Honey Beer Bread”

  1. Elena 14/11/2011 at 6:23 PM #

    The bread was simple delicious and so was the lamb tagine… :-)

  2. Elena 14/11/2011 at 6:30 PM #

    … simply … :-)

Leave a Reply

