Gingerbread-spiced Pumpkin and Walnut Cake with Honey Icing

18 Nov

Gingerbread-spiced Pumpkin and Walnut Cake with Honey Icing

This is the end. I’ve used up all the pumpkin which my friend gave to me. With this cake I officially declare this year’s pumpkin season to be over.

However! The end of the pumpkin season means it’s (almost) the beginning of the Christmas-themed baking season! I am usually seriously strict when it comes to my ban on all Christmas foods, decorations, etc before the first Sunday of advent. But this year everything’s different. Actually, this may very well be the only time I’m baking anything remotely Christmassy this year!

For all of these reasons, this cake had to be special. I went and came up with my own recipe – yes, there are thousands of similar pumpkin bars recipes but this one’s mine. My precioussssss!

And I am happy with the result. Not entirely – when am I ever entirely happy with anything!? Unless there are dinosaurs and/or sharks and/or zombies involved. I am as happy with the result as it’s possible for me.

Reasons why I like this cake:

  1. You can taste the pumpkin. This is essential. You cannot have a pumpkin cake with other things overpowering the taste.
  2. The gingerbread spice and the cinnamon work nicely with the rest, and while with other recipes I often think they are a bit much I have found the perfect amount for my taste.
  3. It’s so soft and moist! The texture is awesome.
  4. It uses orange zests. Oranges are cool.
  5. The honey icing! I am not even that big a fan of honey but I could eat this icing all day long.
  6. The colour and the sliminess of the pumpkin-egg mixture. Never fails to make me happy.

Enough reasons? Good. Now have the recipe:

Gingerbread-spiced Pumpkin and Walnut Cake with Honey Icing

Ingredients
5 eggs
350 g sugar
300 ml oil
530 g puréed pumpkin
250 g flour
3.5 tsp baking powder
1 tsp gingerbread spice
0.5 tsp cinnamon
2.5 tsp orange zests
1 dash salt
100 g chopped walnuts
250 g mascarpone
130 g butter, softened
260 g icing sugar
3 tbsp honey (feel free to use the most intense one you can find!)

Method
Line a 38 x 25 cm baking tray or tin with baking parchment.
In a big bowl mix together the eggs and the puréed pumpkin. Enjoy. :) Add the sugar and the oil and whisk until well combined and fluffy. In a second bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, spices, zests and walnuts; then fold the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture. Spoon onto the baking tray.
Bake at 180°C for about 27 minutes.
Let cool.
For the icing, combine mascarpone and butter, sift the icing sugar onto it. Then add the honey and stir it all well until smooth. Spread the icing onto the cooled cake.

Leave a Reply

