Light Coconut and Lemon Cream Cheese Cake

15 Jan

I always find it quite astounding when people tell me that they find it hard to resist temptation. That’s the easiest thing in the world! In fact, I think it’s too easy. So I’ve decided to stop doing it. Resisting temptation is for beginners. ;)

And this is why when I read this recipe I immediately gave in to the temptation…

Light coconut and lemon cream cheese cake

Light coconut and lemon cream cheese cake

I only changed the original recipe a tiny bit but in the first attempt, the cake was strangely flat. For the second attempt I used a smaller cake tin, and the third time around I adjusted the baking time some more. Perfect!

I really like how light the cake is, with the right level of sweetness for my taste. And it’s low in calories, which you can’t tell when you eat it – if you know me you know how important that is to me!

So I am happy to give you my slightly adapted version of the recipe:

Light Coconut and Lemon Cream Cheese Cake

Ingredients
75 g plain biscuits
30 g desiccated coconut, plus 2 tbsp for garnishing
2 tbsp low-fat yoghurt (I don’t believe in non-fat yoghurt!)
300 g low-fat cream cheese
90 g sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp lemon juice

Method
Butter a 20-cm baking tin, then line it with baking paper.
Crush the biscuits (or use a food processor) thoroughly so you get fine crumbs. Mix them with the desiccated coconut, then add the yoghurt. Mix thoroughly. Spread and press the mixture over the base of your baking tin.
Beat the cream cheese, sugar, eggs, vanilla and lemon juice until well combined. Pour it into the baking tin.
Bake at 160°C for about 40 minutes (until set). From my personal experience I recommend baking it for a bit longer rather than shorter. (Yes, we had coconut and lemon cream cheese cake mush when I made the cake for the second time. Still yummy though.)
Let the cake cool in the tin. Store in the fridge; remove from fridge about an hour before serving. Carefully remove the cake from the pan and top it with 2 tbsp desiccated coconut.
Depending on how lemony you want your cake (be careful not to override the taste of the coconut though!) you can also sprinkle your cake with lemon zest.

Leave a Reply

