Disgusting Looking Beer Cheese Fairy Cakes with Cheese and Bacon Frosting

19 Jan

If I include “disgusting looking” in the title, you’ll all believe me that this was part of the concept from the beginning, aren’t you!?

So today’s baking project was an interesting one. The inspiration came from another baking blog. [Linkiddylink!]  I thought that my zombie film gang could like these cakes, so I decided to try the recipe despite the fact that I like neither beer nor cheese. Perfect prerequisite, right?

Well… here’s the result:

Disgusting Looking Beer Cheese Fairy Cakes with Cheese and Bacon Frosting

Don’t judge a book by its cover, and don’t judge a cake by the fact that it looks like it’s been eaten at least once before… :-/

The taste is actually not too bad. They are weird, but not bad weird.

When I first read ‘Beer Cheese Cupcakes’ I expected savoury fairy cakes. Like I said, it’s weird that they’re sweet – but not bad weird, I think.

Still, I’m not going to make them again. They’re not worth the effort you have to put in. However, as Stef’s recipe for the frosting produced much more than was needed, I turned the batter into a biscuit dough by simply adding eggs and flour. The biscuits aren’t bad at all! Sweet cheese and bacon biscuits? Hell yes!

And turned into biscuits, the frosting looks a lot less horrible. (Not that that’s too hard!)

Disgusting Looking Beer Cheese Fairy Cakes with Cheese and Bacon Frosting

At least they're even better for zombie film night looking this disgusting!

Leave a Reply

