Orange and Poppyseed Birthday Cake with Chocolate Sauce

8 Feb

Yeah, let’s talk some more about food photography, why don’t we. This picture does NOT do the cake justice. Not. At. All. Cutting it up and taking picture of a slice of cake would be a much better option but it’s for my friend and I can’t give her a cake with a piece missing. (Nobody would ever believe me that it was for photography purposes; they know me too well for that!) And call me undedicated to my blog but I don’t want to bake another cake just so I can take a nice picture.

So this is what you get. An underwhelming picture of an overwhelming cake, if I may say so myself! I baked this cake for my friend whose birthday I missed because I was knocked out by a mean jetlag. Yes, that was more than a month ago but I like to think it was worth the wait! :) It’s an lovely orange cake with poppyseeds and a fairly decadent chocolate sauce. Yum.

I printed the recipe off of the BBC Good Food website a while ago but it does not seem to be on there anymore. Shame! Guess I will have to give it to you on here because you definitely want to make this cake. And you want to eat this cake. And then you want to make and eat some more of it!

Orange and Poppyseed Cake with Chocolate Sauce

Ingredients
250 g softened butter
200 g sugar
3 eggs
250 g flour
1.5 tsp baking powder
juice and zest of 2 oranges
50 g poppyseeds
100 ml double cream
100 g chopped chocolate or chocolate chips

Method
Grease a 20 cm cake tin.
Beat 200 g of butter and all the sugar in a large bowl until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beat well. Sift in flour and baking powder, and again beat well. Add the orange juice and zest as well as the poppyseeds and give the whole thing another good beating. Then spoon the mixture into your cake tin and bake at 180° C for 50 minutes.
Let the cake cool in the tin and make the chocolate sauce in the meantime: heat the double cream in a small pan. Take it off the heat and add the remaining 50 g butter and the chocolate (chips). Let sit for one minute, then give it a very good stir until everything is blended really well. Let cool until your cake is nice and cool, then spread it all over the top of it. If there is some sauce left, eat it with a big spoon and don’t hold back if you feel like groaning in enjoyment of all the chocolatey goodness!

Leave a Reply

