Birthday Fairy Cakes for Grown-Ups

13 Feb

For our birthday party on Saturday, I baked two different kinds of fairy cakes for grown-ups:

For the cappuccino cakes I used this recipe from BBC Good Food. I love coffee-flavoured cakes, and this is one of my favourite ones. And even people who don’t like coffee have told me that the cakes are nice! (And they’re weren’t just being polite. My friends don’t do polite. ;)

The mascarpone cream behaved strangely but I liked that the cakes looked all shiny, and I’ve used the leftover way-too-liquid cream to make cappuccino ice cream. Win-win! :D

The other cakes are cashew & lime. I adapted a recipe from a German cookbook. The original recipe is for pistachio cakes but I decided to make cashew ones because part of me just cannot bear to follow instructions. It’s a personal trait that doesn’t always make dealing with me very easy – but at least it also leads to yummy cakes!

Cashew & Lime Fairy Cakes

Ingredients (for about 16 cakes)
90 g cashews
250 g softened butter
140 g sugar
140 g flour
1.5 tsp baking powder
4 tbsp Greek yoghurt
2 eggs
4 tbsp lime juice
200 g icing sugar
zest of 1 lime

Method
Grind/chop/foodprocessorwhiz your cashews as much as you can. (It helps to project all your anger onto the cashews. If you don’t have that much anger, call me. I will be happy to help! ;) Then mix them together with 125 g butter, sugar, flour, baking powder and the Greek yoghurt. Beat your eggs a little (again, depending on your anger level), then stir them into the rest of your cake batter until combined. Spoon your batter into your muffin tin/muffin liners. Bake at 180°C for 20 – 25 minutes.
For the topping, beat the remaining 125 g softened butter together with the lime juice until light and fluffy. Sift in the icing sugar and beat some more. Add the zest and stir well. Spread or pipe your topping onto your cakes; then eat at least one immediately before your friends devour them all!

Leave a Reply

