Marzipany Poppyseed Mini Muffins

3 Apr
Marzipany Poppyseed Mini Muffins

Marzipany poppyseed mini muffins. With a tulip. Because it's spring.

It’s about time I posted a recipe again, and this one is not even stolen from anywhere but my very own creation. Well yes, I used another recipe I have as inspiration but I do think that’s how (almost) everybody works.

So, I have been thinking about marzipan. It’s interesting because people either hate it or love it. I myself am one of the few who don’t feel strongly about it. I do have strong feelings for my marzipany poppyseed mini muffins though! :)

The texture of these mini muffins is lovely. They are very light and fluffy, with a hint of a crust on top, which sets it off in a rather delightful way. Yes, I am happy today!

You should definitely try them yourself:

Marzipany Poppyseed Mini Muffins

Ingredients
90 g margarine
160 g sugar
1 egg
1 tsp marzipan flavouring
2 tsp baking powder
1 pinch salt
140 g flour
150 ml milk

Method
Put the margarine and the sugar into a mixing bowl and get to work on them with your electric whisk. When combined and smooth, add the egg and do some more whisking. Then add all the other ingredients* and beat until well combined. The mixture is a bit runny for muffin batter but that’s fine. Because I say so. Pour it into 24 mini muffin liners sitting in your mini muffin baking tin. Bake at 190° C for about 17 minutes.

* You can tell that that was the point when my culinary creativity left me. Probably wandered off to have a drink with my urge to clean the house, which I haven’t seen much of lately…

Leave a Reply

