Chick and Bunny Cakes for Easter

8 Apr

Chicken and bunny cakes for Easter

Christmas is the Joyous Season, right? You don’t have to be in a good mood at Easter then, do you? GOOD. Because I am telling you, these bunny cakes have been annoying the hell out of me. What a load of &$%§& ….

See, the almond cakes I baked (which were turned into yesterday’s breakfast muffins) were supposed to become Easter Bunny cakes. But they were too dry and I wasn’t happy. So I baked another batch of cakes. Try again – fail better, right? Grrrrr. For some reason my cocoa and hazelnut muffins got these really weird flat, wide tops. Is it just me or do everybody else’s cakes also do really strange things sometimes? SIGH.

So my Easter bunnies have really fat faces and I am annoyed. No way was I going to bake a third round of cakes. Sometimes you just have to accept the fat-faced bunnies. I did. Grudgingly, but still.

At least my chick cakes turned out the way the should. They are lemon and coconut fairy cakes (very loosely based on this recipe [language warning: German]) dipped in desiccated coconut coloured yellow, with chocolate eyes and beaks carved and shaped from chewy candy. I find them rather cute.

And I think it’s nice that the cute chick is sharing its plate with the deformed bunny. I’m sure there’s a life lesson in there for all of us. ;)

Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

