Passionfruit Cream Sponge

1 May

This post is a bit late… Sometimes I have other things to do than write my blog. Shocking! :)

On Sunday, we were invited to a special double-birthday-slash-welcoming-the-new-baby brunch at our friends’ house. And I couldn’t go. So I just sent my representative and a cake. :)

Passionfruit Cream Sponge

Passionfruit Cream Sponge

When I saw the recipe on chocolate CHILLI mango a while ago, it immediately had to go on my to-do list. Passionfruit are just too yummy, and I must say that seeing as I have a couple of friends who are gluten intolerant I was intrigued by the fact that it’s a corn flour sponge. I also have other friends who are generally intolerant, and they get cakes from me too – so it’s only fair! :)

You can see that I cut my cake only once; I had to use a bigger baking tin and my sponge was a bit too flat (or I was too much of a chicken) to go for three very thin sponge layers. But I think two layers work as well, and the cake looks nice with the passionfruit cream on top.

As I haven’t eaten any of it myself, I can only rely on second-hand information but apparently it’s nice. Yay. :)

One Response to “Passionfruit Cream Sponge”

  1. Chocolate Chilli Mango® 01/05/2012 at 10:37 PM #

    so glad you liked it! 2 layers or 3, it’s all good. Next time, double the recipe for a bigger tin!! :-)

Leave a Reply

