Bloody band-aids & bloody bones

5 Jul

bloody band-aid biscuits

Zombie film night baking, huzzah!

It’s actually a bit weird that I am still calling them zombie film nights, seeing as we haven’t watched any proper zombie films in ages. But I think today may be the day we’re going back to our roots – we have Incubo sulla città contaminata on our to-do list.

In any case, this week’s film night baking project is bloody band-aid biscuits.

They are almond biscuits (my grandmother’s recipe, usually made for Christmas; I am aware that my use of the recipe is quite sacrilegious…) with a bit of vanilla cake icing and red liquid food colouring.

The biscuits aren’t perfect, and they don’t look as disgusting as I had expected/planned/hoped, so for the photo I’ve placed them on a very cool chopping board my friend gave me as a present to make them look cooler.

 

And when the deed was done, I had some egg whites left over…

bloody bones

Bloody bones meringues

 

… what else was I supposed to do!? :)

The idea for the meringue bones is Martha Stewart’s, and I added some strained cherry jam because bones have to be bloody. Full stop.

This was the first time I’ve ever made meringue, by the way. Not as tricky as I’d feared, hooray. I am not a big fan of the stuff myself but then I rarely bake for myself anyway.

Finally, a rare polite note from yours truly:
I’d like to thank Matthias for the great photos. Every single good picture on this blog was taken by him; the boring/blurred/under- or overexposed ones are mine. Because I’m artistic like that. ;)

One Response to “Bloody band-aids & bloody bones”

  1. Tina 05/07/2012 at 6:18 PM #

    Yuk.
    Also mir sind die eklig genug.

Leave a Reply

