Swedish-ish Almond Cake

21 May

Tradition demands that my mad friends and I get drunk on Eurovision night. So we have motto parties every year to accommodate this tradition. :)

This year’s Eurovision Song Contest host country was Sweden, so we had an Ikea-themed party. I dressed up as a hex key, a costume I can definitely recommend to anyone who is desperate to feel really uncomfortable for an evening!

And I baked a Swedish-ish almond cake:

swedish-ish almond cake 1It’s Swedish-ish firstly because I didn’t stick to any original Swedish recipe but made my own variation of it. The reasons for this are threefold:

  1. I can.
  2. See above.
  3. I had a very specific idea for the “interior look” of my cake, which required a specific texture etc.

swedish-ish almond cake 2And this is also the second way in which my cake is only Swedish-ish: my beloved food colouring has let me down! The blue colouring made the cake turquoise. :(

I like to think, however, that seeing as the whole event was in no way PC, a turquoise-and-yellow Swedish flag just goes with the theme…

Texture was mentioned earlier – I was surprised (and a bit disappointed) how much the weight of the top two layers squashed the bottom layer. The top and the bottom layers were originally of equal height. I must make a note of this for future flag cakes…

Oh, and Denmark won this year’s Eurovision! Vikings ahoy for next year’s party!

One Response to “Swedish-ish Almond Cake”

  1. Julia 26/10/2013 at 4:18 PM #

    Swedish Cake!! <3 SO perfect!

Leave a Reply

