Big Hairy Spider Cake for my most favourite arachnophobe’s birthday

19 Jul

Big Hairy Spider Cake

 

It was a very special day yesterday. I do love birthdays, or any occasion for a party, as long as I have a say in the guest list. But of course my man’s birthdays are always especially special! :)

Now this man of mine happens to be a serious arachnophobe. The only thing he might fear more is having to get up early in the morning.

I want you, dear reader, to believe me that I baked this cake in order to alleviate his phobia. Because it would be really cool if somebody believed that!

 

Big Hairy Spider Cake

 

The mouse in its almondibles (hee!) was a last-minute flash of inspiration; I think it’s a very nice detail. For a given value of nice, of course.

As for the cake, it’s a chocolate cake with a cherry and cream filling and chocolate frosting, not quite a Black Forest gateau, but a bit of a Black Forest wannabe. :) I cut the cake twice, horizontally, right as it came out of the oven. Then I put the top layer into a big bowl lined with cling film in order to get the shape of the spider body.

The rest is history. And lots and lots of chocolate.

 

Big Hairy Spider Cake

 

Leave a Reply

