Backen für Wacken II / Wacken baking 2015

2 Aug

Wacken Muffins

By very vocal demand of a single person, I had to bake poppyseed cake for this year’s Wacken Open Air again. Last year’s seems to have gone down even better than I’d thought! :D

This year, however, I made muffins rather than a sheet cake for logistics reasons.*

Unfortunately, I did not have the time for intricate poppyseed cake decoration this time, so I made use of my lateste acquisition: food colouring pens!

In theory, you can use them to draw and write on your food without a problem.

In practice, sugar icing will break if your drawing and writing is not exquisitely tender. In addition, the colour will bleed out and blur a little over night, so you should have taken the pictures just when you were done decorating the muffins. Grrrr.

 

* Our driver banned fresh fruit or vegetables, as well as cakes, from his car, because he says neither are Heavy Metal. This is rubbish, of course. If these muffins are not Heavy Metal, I don’t know what is! \m/ So, anyway, I had to pack the muffins into boxes to pass his luggage inspection and smuggle the muffins on board.

As is usually the case when I break the rules, it was definitely worth it! The muffins got our gang through some very tough and very muddy times at the festival!

Leave a Reply

