Pepernoten Christmas Cake in a Cinnamon Fir Forest

22 Dec

 

2015 Christmas Cake

We had our traditional (!) Christmas dinner last weekend. And would you believe it, I volunteered to bring a cake! :)

I made a pepernoten cake. Pepernoten are Dutch Christmas … biscuits? Things. Let’s agree to call them Christmas things. Also, italics.

So, yeah. Pepernoten. They taste a bit gingerbready and are very lovely. I made a quite moist sponge cake with bits of pepernoten in it. The bakpubliek liked it! :D

 

2015-christmas-cake07

On top of the cake, I put loads of sparkly sugar stars. Because Christmas!

 

2015 Christmas Cake

 

For the fir forest, I’d baked cinnamon biscuits the previous day. I bought two more biscuit cutters especially because I wanted to have different shapes and sizes for the trees.

 

2015-christmas-cake12

And there’s a dinosaur lurking in the forest! I didn’t have to buy an extra biscuit cutter for him, though. Surprised, are you?

Merrooooooooooooooooooaaaary Christmas!

 

Leave a Reply

